I lived in massachusetts for 10 years where they require recycling of bottles by making you pay a fee for each bottle you buy. They also have recycle machines right at the grocery store where you can return these bottles and receive a ticket to redeem the money with your next purchase. Very convenient. When one knows she is going to do the shopping you just be certain to put your glass and cans in the car so you can get your redemption ticket for the amount of the recycles.

    I am very happy California recycles but the consumer is paying at the grocers and then putting then in the recycle bins and never getting credit for those glass and cans you purchased. It doesn’t seem quite fair to me. I tried to recycle when I first came back to CA but the recycle place is so far away and the amounts I recycled were so minor that they gave me the cash but what a hassle.

    Why don’t Safeway and Whole foods and other grocery stores have the machines to recycle at the source? Just saying!

